Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
a_roy

How deep can you plant

a_roy
9 years ago

Hi,
I'm new to rose growing. I'm in zone 4, and I've been pleasantly surprised at the success of my rose bushes so far. I'm in my 3rd year and have over sixty rose bushes, way more than I planned. Eventually I plan to reduce the lot down to 30 or 40. I'm surprised at how well they are surviving our winters, for example I have Oklahoma which was one of my first roses. I planted the union flush with the ground, the first winter it died down to a few inches from the ground and this winter I was left with a foot and a half of healthy canes.
Now I'm planting my rose bud unions four inches from the surface and they are all doing fine. I didn't lose any roses this past winter. I have a few that are rated zone 5. I'm wondering if I can go even lower than 4 inches.

Thanks
Arnold

Comments (6)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I have read posts on this forum in which the poster--from the more frigid zones--claimed to plant the graft 4-6 inches deep--so I guess you can plant yours an inch or so deeper.

Kate

• mad_gallica (z5 Eastern NY)
    9 years ago

There is no reason to go deeper. Unless your soil is very light, the roots will have problems getting enough air if they are planted too deep.

It sounds like your roses may be dying back to the snow line. If that is true, then whatever happens underground isn't part of the equation.

• sowandgrow
    9 years ago

I had read in different places to go six inches, so that is what I did. They all made it through the winter. This is only my second year with roses, so will see how they do this year. I was just curious, how do you winter protect yours? I am also in a cold zone.

• a_roy
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hi sowandgrow,