Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
corgitrbl

Tea Roses

corgitrbl
9 years ago

I am new to Tea Roses - are there any roses in this category that have the stamina and size of the McCartney rose? This rose is amazing here in southeastern PA. It had some dieback in our 14 snowstorm year. Thanks for any suggestions.

Comments (9)

• cecily
    9 years ago

Hi corgi, welcome to the rose forum. In SE PA, the roses you're actually interested in are called hybrid teas (HT). Tea roses are antiques that grow in the deep South. The McCartney rose is especially resistant to blackspot fungus(for a HT) which is very important in your area. Do you have a color preference for your new roses? Other forum members from the mid-Atlantic can recommend BS resistant HTs if you specify a color choice. Good luck!

• corgitrbl
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I am not too fussy, although I am looking for the paler colors. Surrounding this site are DAs in romantic colors. The DA reds are in beds in the front surrounding my patio. .

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    9 years ago

If you are available, the Philadelphia Rose Society's annual rose show is this Sunday, June 1st, at the Morris Arboretum (fee, but if you bring a rose to enter into the show before 10 AM, admission is free). Show opens to the public at 1. You'll see a wide variety of roses, and can talk to the growers about their experiences and care process. The next area shows are the West Jersey RS on June 7th, at the Moorestown Mall (free), and the Del-Chester RS show on June 14th at Longwood Gardens (fee, but if you bring a rose to enter into the show before 10 AM, admission is free).

I am hard pressed to recommend any HTs with the resistance of The McCartney Rose. Some have reported moderate success with Elle, which is a light pink, with yellow base.

• michaelg
    9 years ago

'
    'Elina' is resistant in some gardens.

• cecily
    9 years ago

Are you spraying your DAs with fungicide? How are they doing?

• jacqueline9CA