Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mel_bag26

Black spot doesn't go away

Mel.Bag26
9 years ago

Hello There,

I'm really new to gardening and have encountered an issue with black spot on some roses that I recently "inherited".

I read that I should prune away any diseased parts of the bush, which I did, but now the black spot has returned (on almost every single bush!).

I'm not sure what to do! I sterilized my pruning shears, but not in between bushes, only at the beginning. Am I supposed to sterlize between each plant?

Please help me! I would hate for these to die, but I'm afraid to cut them anymore.

Thanks for any help!

Melissa

Comments (10)

• cecily
    9 years ago

Hi Melissa, where do you live? BS spores are in the air. In certain parts of the US, its nearly impossible to prevent BS without using fungicide sprays. Some roses are more resistant to BS than others but since you already have the roses growing in your garden, you may need to spray.

• charleney
    9 years ago

NOW READ THIS CAREFULLY!! Bayer Advanced Disease Control,,, It will stop it immediately after spraying. However, the leaves that are already spotted will die back!
    Do not buy the Bayer All in One, or combination of other stuff if that line. In my experience, I think it killed the bees too (But not sure). It was difficult to find just the Bayer advanced. Finally found it at Lowes! Hope this helps..
    Follow the directions on lable of BADC. I am very happy with it.

• nippstress - zone 5 Nebraska
    9 years ago