Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joopster

David Austin in containers?

joopster
9 years ago

I ordered some DA climbers but soon realized that i only have a foot of good soil, the rest are heavy clay. So I decided to grow my roses in pots. I was only able to find 22" pots in plastic. The biggest ceramic and clay pots available were 18". Which should I go with?

Here is what I got:
~Spirit of Freedom
~James Galway
~Charles Darwin
~A Shropshire lad
~Golden Celebration
~Abby Darby

This post was edited by Joopster on Thu, May 15, 14 at 11:23

Comments (6)

• joopster
    Original Author
    9 years ago

And Princess Alexandra of Kent

Pot dimension: 18-in H x 21.7-in W x 21.7-in D

This post was edited by Joopster on Thu, May 15, 14 at 11:37

• kinglemuelswife
    9 years ago

I am no expert; there are probably others who can chime in on this but I would choose the smaller, clay pot. My reason is that the bigger the pot, the longer your plant will spend trying to fill it with its root system. Now, a good root system is not a bad thing, obviously. But if the pot is too big, the plant struggles and it will be a while before it starts putting out leaves and blooms. Give it the smaller pot, allow it to develop a decent root system but also build a strong plant, and then you can always transplant up to the larger pot when the plant is strong.

I also noticed you are growing Golden Celebration. GC and SoF were two of the 36 or so DAs I grew when my climate zone a 6, before we moved. Both were favorites; they're beautiful. GC tended to wilt in afternoon sun, even though she was well-watered and cared for. If your temps get hot, I'd protect her from the hottest part of the day and keep her watered. SoF was a gem, so gorgeous; but she tended to ball. Beautiful bush, though, and great form. I'd grow her again in a heartbeat. I don't know about your experience with DAs, but I just thought I'd mention those two.

• joopster
    Original Author
    9 years ago