Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
adelgrenfam

knock-out roses

adelgrenfam
9 years ago

First, I am a total novice when it comes to gardening of any kind, so I'm at the very beginning stages of learning ANYTHING! I planted 2 knock out rose bushes at the front of my house (eastern exposure) last summer. I fertilized regularly throughout the summer and they bloomed beautifully. Our winter was very harsh, however, with quite a bit of snow and temperatures often plummeting well below zero. As per directions, I pruned the bushes back to about a foot in height late April. There is NO sign of any new growth on either bush yet. Is there anything I should be doing, or are they goners? :(

Comments (8)

• jim1961 / Central Pennsylvania / Zone 6
    9 years ago

Well I'm in one zone warmer than you and I have noticed at a local church which has 40+ Knockouts planted that half of them hardly have any leaves.
    So half of them are leafing out decent but the other half not so good... I'm not sure what's going on?
    I have noticed this elsewhere too locally some KO's have leafed out fine but others not...
    Maybe partly due to planting location of each bush? I don't know...

• jim1961 / Central Pennsylvania / Zone 6
    9 years ago

I have heard that zone 5A can be hard on regular Knockouts...
    Hopefully yours come back... Wish I could tell you one way or the other if they will come back or not but I can't...

What color are the canes? I suppose your Ko's are ownroot and its possible they may come back froom the roots if the canes are all dead to the ground...

• kidhorn
    9 years ago

My knock outs leaf out at about the same time as my other roses, so if some roses are leafing out and KO isn't, it's a bad sign.

• ptwonline
    9 years ago