Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
franspeake

help

FranSpeake
11 years ago

I have been growing Roses for a few years and I recently planted a new bush at the end of my flower bed, after removing an old one that never did well in that area(I thought it was the bush). The new bush died, the 2nd one died and now I am on the third and it may die. It is turning the leaves a little brown at the base of the plant before it travels up and kills the rest. The other four bushes in the SAME flower bed are fine. What can it be? And can it only be at one end of the flower bed and its only been the last few weeks. It wasn't killing roses in that one area before a couple of months ago. And it is getting plenty of water. If it is a fungus what do I use? Thank you very much!!

Comments (2)

• roseseek
    11 years ago

Fran, you need to do some detective work, digging around in that soil. Perhaps it's compacted and the drainage isn't good. Perhaps it drains too well and the plants don't get the adequate moisture. Perhaps something which had been dumped into the soil has migrated down to the area and poisoning the rose. Digging out the area so you can examine what's under where the rose grows should tell you a lot. Usually, though, if there are issues with the ground, the problems will show up in the new growth first, but by exploring the under ground possibilities, you can potentially rule them out and place the blame on the roses instead.