Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Rose rosette disease? :(

Posted by Maggie.the.pearl NE ohio (My Page) on
Mon, May 26, 14 at 14:13

Hi,

I am brand new to roses and somewhat confused about what is normal in terms of appearance of new growth.

I literally just planted 2 bushes 2-3 weeks ago, which seems too short a time for problems to develop. One looks fine, the other I'm questioning. The leaves look too strange - yellow and red - and the one cane looks too thorny

I got them mail order from David Austin.

Have a look, what do you think?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Rose rosette disease? :(

I could be totally stupid as I'm new! But the top most leaves seem so shriveled, almost black. I've been watching them a few days and no change.

o

Did they come potted up?

To me it looks as if there's a salt or other buildup in the soil and that's more than the new growth can tolerate.

If it were mine, I'd flush the soil (gently) with water. And then I'd flush it a lot more.

Leave the bush in semi shade.

Be patient. that massive cane still has potential.

o

• Posted by seil z6b MI (My Page) on
    Mon, May 26, 14 at 15:00

There could be any number of reasons for that funky growth but I don't think it's RRD. You got them a couple of weeks ago and planted them right away. We had some frost warnings just a couple of weeks ago, did you too? That looks like cold damage to new growth in my opinion.

As far as the thorns are concerned, some roses ARE thornier than others. I don't see anything like the massive thorniness of RRD. You wouldn't be able to see much of any green cane at all between the thrones on RRD canes.

You need to relax and be patient and let this poor thing warm up and really start growing.

o

Thanks for the responses,

They did not come potted - just in plastic bags to protect the roots.