Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
roses, roses!

Posted by mom2coy 6a/5b (My Page) on
Fri, May 16, 14 at 14:54

good afternoon!

I'm new to rose gardening. We purchased a house last August , and it came with 5 of the same variety roses on the East side of the house (from what I remember they bloomed until frost) and a pretty pink one tucked into the W/NW corner.

I pruned all the dead canes off the "shrub like" roses on the East side, amd they're coming along nicely. My only concern is the previous owner planted then SO CLOSE to the house. I think once a rose is in, it should be left, right? So, do I just keep pruning away from the siding?

The rose in the back is almost dead. All the canes are black, but there is some nice green growth at the bottom. I don't think this is a good spot for this rose, although I don't really have a place to move it except maybe in my side yard by some daisies. It bloomed really nicely last year, so perhaps the bad winter just did it in amd maybe it can stay?

How do I determine what kind of roses these are? Pics posted on here?

Thanks for any help!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: roses, roses!

If you want to move the several roses which are too close to your house, you can do that - just cut them back by at least half, if you haven't just done that. That is because when your transplant them, it will damage their roots, and while the roots recuperate, they will not be able to support much top growth. Try to dig up as much of the root ball as you can. After you have re-planted them, DO NOT feet them. Be sure and give them lots of water, because as I said their roots will be damaged. Then just let them alone - they may not look as if they are doing anything for a while. What they will really be doing is growing new roots under the ground where you cannot see them. When they start to put out new top growth you can feed them - follow the directions.