Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
queenbee_1_gw

Orange roses?

queenbee_1
14 years ago

I am new to roses. I have purchased 12 this yr. I am looking for some orange roses.. A few I have seen pictures of, that I like, are Ginger, Gingersnap, Vavoom--YOU know, that bright orange.... BUT what, on earth, do you use as companion plants? I thought about just an entire orange bed--cosmos,lantana, old fashion daylilies--using the entire range of orange from yellowish to really orange.. Boring?? What is your favorite orange rose and how do you display it?? Thank you QB

Comments (22)

• Zyperiris
    14 years ago

I have a orange bed..with yellow..it's new however. I have planted some yellow and orange lillies. I am going to move into pink down the row. So I have decided to get a oblisk and plant a large purple Clematis on it to break up the colors. Good luck. My favorite orange is Valencia

• jeffcat
    14 years ago

Purple goes together well with SOME oranges. For example, I grow Pat Austin against bluish purple campanula and have seen others grow it beside purple salvia and it's a great color combo.

• jaxondel
    14 years ago

I think purple/blue goes well with ALL oranges . . . really makes the roses 'pop'.

Color perception is, apparently, subjective. I consider 'Valencia' to be apricot -- almost yellow from a distance. My most orange HTs are 'Cary Grant' and 'Queen Beatrix'. And there's a boatload of orange Floribundas . . .

• kstrong
    14 years ago

Best orange roses that are easily available? Disneyland and Outrageous, without a shadow of a doubt. Best orange mailorder (and you might have to wait for it), Kordes Brillant (from Vintage).

Kathy

• kathy9norcal
    14 years ago

A question dear to my heart--I love orange roses. They go with reds, blues, purples, yellow and whites, and peaches. I can't imagine what they don't go with. Try spiky veronica or annual sage.