Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chaoticdreams

Fertilizer Question

Chaoticdreams
10 years ago

This is probably going to be a loaded question and if it's the umpteenth one I apologize, but I'm a newbie and Google keeps giving me conflicting returns.

For container roses, which fertilizer is best? I've currently got in my possession, Rose Tone, Miracle Gro Rose food that you dilute in water, and Neptune's Harvest Fish/Seaweed Emulsion. Some say don't use granular, use liquid on containers. But the Rose Tone has directions for containers. Is the emulsion enough or should I use it with something else or just keep using it on my veggies and forget the roses? All the reviews, on Amazon at any rate, say all three are great. I don't know which to use. I just know using all at one time would probably be bad lol.

Thanks for any input!

Cas

Comments (14)

• AquaEyes 7a NJ
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I've used granular organic fertilizer in containers -- in fact, for the first batch of rose bands I potted up a couple years ago, I used Rose-tone. I used 1 cup per 2-gallon pot, sprinkled in layers as I added soil to the pot so it was mixed in well. This year, I switched to Jobe's Organic Knock-Out (no particular reason other than that it happened to be on-sale at the time), and for this year's bands, their first soaking after being potted up was done with fish/seaweed emulsion diluted to half the recommended strength.

Since these were bands, that was enough to carry them through the rest of the season until they were planted in Autumn. If they were further along in growth (say, the second year), I'd also use the fish/seaweed emulsion at half the recommended strength once a month between waterings (where I am, the rain takes care watering pots until sometime in June).