Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jameya

does this look dead??

jameya
9 years ago

Hello, I am a newbie when it comes to growing things. Last year I bought a "stick" rose at a big box store and planted it, and it seems to be doing great and has some leaves on it now. I also bought a larger rose bush (can't remember the names of them) but the larger one I planted don't seem to be doing that well. And I'm not sure I planted it right. I looked on the tag and on the nurseries website and it said to plant the "crown" towards the top of the soil, but now I've been reading online that I most likely put it underground a bit more since I am in zone 5 (central indiana) and winters can get kind of crazy. I did have about 2 inches of mulch around it through out the fall and winter and I dug the mulch from around it a bit to see if there was any green on the stems. There isn't. And there are no leaves or anything on it, so I'm wondering if it might be dead, or if I can try and save it somehow. I put a couple banna peels around it a couple weeks ago if that makes a difference. Any thoughts or advice??

Comments (9)

• jameya
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here is another picture of it..no leaves or new growth, but yet my other rose does have green and red ish leaves.

• kentucky_rose zone 6
    9 years ago

If this was my rose, I'd cut off to the ground to see if this will stimulate some new growth. After about 2 weeks and nothing going on, out it would go.

• jameya
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Okay, tomorrow I will cut it...how much do I cut off, and do I cut it enough just to leave small sticks barely sticking out of the ground?? Do I cut the thicker stems that are close to the ground already?? Sorry, I have no clue as to what I am doing, so bare with me. And if somehow I get lucky and it grows should I cover the "crown" a bit more then it is now, or leave it??

• jameya
    Original Author
    9 years ago