Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bgaviator

Need to learn about roses...newbie here

bgaviator
10 years ago

Hello all,
Last year and this year I have planted a few Double Knock Out Rose bushes. Those seem to be doing pretty well for me...they seem pretty low maintenance so far.

Now we are wanting to do yellow roses in the front of the house off to the side of the porch where it will get full sun. I

I see that the Knock Out Rose brand has what's called a Sunny Knock Out.....
I am looking for something that at a minimum will get 3ft tall, but preferably a little taller.
Are these Sunny ones pretty good too?
I was at Meijer today and saw a kind of yellow rose called a thornless or something along those lines. It still had thorns though on the bottom half of the stems, but the top half was thorn free. I was pretty turned off by the price though...$21!

I then saw they had had something called a Yellow Hybrid Tea Rose.....it was very pretty, and only $10....more my liking on price!

I also was looking online at something called the Easy Elegance roses. I am not sure how expensive they are cause I haven't been able to get to the only garden center that sells them around here yet.....but I'm afraid they will probably be expensive as well.....I will probably need at least 3 plants for this area we are doing.

I need something that is easy to take care of (this is at my in-law's house....if I'm not around, the plants won't get taken care of too well)
I also want something that is a repeat bloomer throughout the whole spring/summer.

With all this criteria in mind, what should I probably go for to meed our needs? Thank you.

Comments (10)

• roseseek
    10 years ago