Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michelle_co_gw

Nitrogen

michelle_co
9 years ago

Hi - I have been growing roses in my garden for several years now, and I still have problems getting good growth. I had soil analysis done this year, and the main nutrient missing from my red clay soil is nitrogen.

What is the best way to feed it to my roses? I have everything setup on drip, and I use a drip injector to feed a Miracle Grow type product a few times per season. I also put out about a cup of Milorganite, a cup of alfalfa pellets, a handful of balanced fertilizer and some compost around each rose during the season. So how do I safely increase the amount I am feeding without causing problems with salt buildup, etc.?

I have a bag of urea, and I also have chickens (hence chicken manure). I thought about using either of those amendments if possible. I don't compost because it's so dry here, I have never been able to get good results. I could put out some chicken manure in late fall, though?

Thanks!
Michelle

Comments (13)

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    9 years ago

Nothing you could get would be better than your own aged chicken manure. If you are going to use MG, use the lawn fertilizer and then just use less of it.

• michaelg
    9 years ago

If you get a soil test in spring before fertilizing, it will almost always show that nitrogen is needed. That doesn't mean there was anything wrong with your program last year. Available N will have washed out of the topsoil, and bacteria in cold soil are unable to convert insoluble organic N into soluble, available N. They will start doing that when the soil warms.

If you want a quick shot of N, you can scatter 1 TB of urea per plant and water 1/2 inch to dissolve it. Chicken manure also contains some urea, so don't overdo it. You don't need both within the same four weeks.