Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katefisher_gw

Fish Fertilizier and Vitamin B-1

katefisher
15 years ago

Today my husband and I picked up some goodies from Home Depot. One is Alaska Fish Fertilizer and the other Western States Vitamin B-1.

I am wondering if folks here use the Fish Fertilizer? I would prefer to use it as a drench but I read the Lilly Miller page which talked about spraying it on.

I want to use the Vitamin B-1 for some of the roses and other plants I have recently transplanted. My question there is can I use fish emulsion and B-1 on the same plant in the same day without totally over doing it?

I've never used either one of these products before so I'm kind of flying blind.

Thank you.

Kate

Comments (11)

• Jean Marion (z6a Idaho)
    15 years ago

Spraying fish juice on the leaves is similar to getting a shot of novacaine for a toothache. It gets to where it needs to go RIGHT AWAY.

A soil drench makes the rose wait until the stuff gets down to the roots and the roots drink it up and then send it all the way throughout the plant to the leaves... it would be like taking a pill for the toothache...

Both do the same thing, but one is much quicker... (and you get the full effect without any of it being lost along the way)

Taking a pain pill and a vitamin at the same time has no effect on each other... same with the Fish stuff and the B1... go for it... the plants will be very perky :)

• carla17
    15 years ago

I think more people use fish fert. as foliar than ground soak. I never did spray mine but have started. Feed and spray, best of two worlds.
    I wonder if the vitamin is like Superthrive, which is supposed to be like a vitamin shot for roses.

Carla

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    15 years ago

Problem with fish emulsions is the oil. Can cause leaf burn. I won't use fish emulsion in a foliar spray. Drench, yes. Liquid seaweed is my choice for foliar application.

I only use B1 for new starts, so I can't help there.

• berndoodle
    15 years ago