Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
desirai_gw

Knock out rose looking ugly

Desirai
9 years ago

Help. What is causing this damage to my knockout rose?

First is a picture of a freshly opened bloom, followed by blooms that opened a couple days ago

{{gwi:281491}}

{{gwi:281492}}

{{gwi:281493}}

{{gwi:281494}}

Comments (14)

• lovetogrowflowers
    9 years ago

It just looks like a spent bloom to me. I'm new to knockout roses so I'm really no help. I just purchased some a few days ago, and I have blooms on mine like that. I assumed it was where walmart was watering them overhead, but I don't know for sure.

• lovetogrowflowers
    9 years ago

It just looks like a spent bloom to me. I'm new to knockout roses so I'm really no help. I just purchased some a few days ago, and I have blooms on mine like that. I assumed it was where walmart was watering them overhead, but I don't know for sure.

• Desirai
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hmm. it's just mighty ugly. I don't recall them looking like that last year. but you could be right

• unbiddenn
    9 years ago

Could some kind of insect attacked that specific set of flower buds? It looks similar to mine when something attacks a buds. Wait and see how the rest open, and look close for insects.

• michaelg
    9 years ago

Botrytis fungal disease attacks rose petals during cool, wet weather. It causes soggy brown spots that later become crispy. It can also cause pink spots on pale roses. Often the symptoms are worst on the outermost petals because they are exposed longer. There is little you can do about it, but it spreads only under certain weather conditions.

• portia
    9 years ago

Not scientific by any means but that reminds me of when rain kind of rots the buds on the plant, and then they open up with rotted looking petals on the inside.

• charleney
    9 years ago

What MichaelG said

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    9 years ago