Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ngardener123

Can I grow rose cutting from seeds starter?

ngardener123
9 years ago

This is my first time to grow rose. I heard rose could grow from cutting. I cut some stems and sprouts and put them in the seeds starters made of pure peat. I would like to ask if this is ok? Will I get new roses? Thanks a lot!

This post was edited by NGardener123 on Mon, May 12, 14 at 23:33

Comments (13)

• roseseek
    9 years ago

As long as all the other conditions are met, yes, you can root cuttings in peat pellets. Mel Hulse created The Rose Rustler's Tool Kit using his "Baggie Method" of rooting roses many years ago. He put potting soil in the bags so he could see the roots more easily. I altered his method by using the peat pellets you're using because I can see them grow through the pellet sides and remove them from the baggies without disturbing the roots as greatly as you do when they are all in the same ball of soil. I have also used the pellets to raise rose seedlings. So, yes, as long as all the other conditions necessary for them to root are met, you can use them to root roses. Kim

Here is a link that might be useful: The Rose Rustler's Tool Kit

• ngardener123
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Kim, thank you so much for your information. One of the reasons I used the peat pellets is that I can see the roots grow out easily and later can transplant the plants without disturbing the roots. What are the other conditions then?Grace

• roseseek
    9 years ago