Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
theresebugnet

Black bark?

ThereseBugnet
9 years ago

Hi all

I'm a newbie to rose bushes, having just planted my first two this year. One, planted in front of my house, is a Therese Bugnet and receives full sun all during the day. It's thriving.

The other, a Chicago Peace, has not grown a single leaf since being planted roughly two months ago. It has gotten a little taller, but some of the edges of the bark are black. They were a little black even at the store, so I just assumed it was natural colouring and that it'd grow out of it as it got more sun. It is planted in my backyard, which receives sun throughout the day, but not the sweltering afternoon light.

Should I be concerned about my rose bush? I feel like it should have grown some leaves or something by now and the blackness concerns me, but I've never done this before, so for all I know it could be totally normal... if it's not, what do you all recommend I do about it?

Thanks everyone.

Comments (10)

• paparoseman
    9 years ago

If that picture was taken after two months being planted I would say that the ONLY good news is that the canes are not black to the base. Any rose which was planted two months ago regardless if it had leaves or not at the time should be fully leafed out now and growing like gangbusters. The area on the canes that is black is dead for sure. But mainly I would like to know why the canes have not broken dormancy and sprouted new leaves by early June.

• michaelg
    9 years ago

The green bark tells us it is alive. Tips have died back with canker fungus owing to careless pruning (too far above a bud site). However, it appears not to be spreading and it is not the cause of the rose not growing.