Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ellaroset

Red Rose, darker outside lighter inside?

EllaRoseT
11 years ago

Hi all! I'm new to gardening roses. But I'm looking for a nice really red rose. Prefence is for one that is darker on the outside and lighter on the inside.

Do any exist like that?

Of course disease resistance would be great (My Mister Lincoln seems to get black spot a lot); and I'd love for it to be a good cut rose.

(let me know if the ones you recommend have any other perks!)

thanks so much!

Comments (6)

• EllaRoseT
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hi all! I'm new to gardening roses. But I'm looking for a nice really red rose. Prefence is for one that is darker on the outside and lighter on the inside.
    Do any exist like that?
    Of course disease resistance would be great (My Mister Lincoln seems to get black spot a lot); and I'd love for it to be a good cut rose.
    (let me know if the ones you recommend have any other perks!)

thanks so much!

oh, alot of blooms would also be a plus... my ML seems to not get many (tho it is only his 2nd year)

• flaurabunda
    11 years ago

EllaRose,
    Location is everything when it comes to making recommendations--can you let us know approximately where you are? Conditions in zone 6b can vary greatly from one area of the country to another.

If you're looking for a true red that has a little variance from the outer petals to the inner petals without changing to purple or pink, have you considered the deep red, "black" roses? I grow Taboo/Barkarole, and I think it's magnificent. Growth is robust, disease resistance is very good so far, and it has a light scent that reminds me of berries. The scent is better if brought indoors and it does very well for me as a cut flower.

Here are some pics. The buds are black, and after they open, the darker petals on the outside form a deep burgundy/blackish frame for the inner petals, which are a deep, blood-red color.

{{gwi:283511}}

{{gwi:283512}}

{{gwi:283513}}