Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jbb2179

Rose Trouble

jbb2179
9 years ago

This is my first year growing roses and I made the mistake of buying roses from a less than reputable online retailer (but that's a whole other can of worms) and one of the bare root roses I got is dying. I really want to try and save it because I don't want to go through the hassle of trying to get a replacement. I can attach pictures later if those would help, but when it came the cane looked striped, it was green but striped with brown-ish. Up until we got 8 inches of rain in two nights it remained green to the top of the cane. After that it quickly went brown all the way down. There is still some green near the base of the cane. I used a 3 in 1 systemic fertilizer/insect control/disease control about a week ago, or about two weeks after it started dying. If active ingredients would help I can get those too. I have 5 total roses; three are doing very well, one I think was DOA, and the one I mention here. Any advice would be extremely helpful.

Comments (5)

• michaelg
    9 years ago

The product you mention is probably Bayer All-in-One soil drench containing tebuconazole, Merit, (imidacloprid), and cheap fertilizer. Experienced rose growers recommend against using this product. It is not very effective against any major rose problem and puts a lot of chemicals in the soil. At any rate, it would have no effect on the die-back problem you describe.

Bare-root roses planted late in the season or acquired from a discount supplier will have a high failure rate. When roses die back, it is usually undiagnosable and incurable. There is nothing you can do but have patience and hope, water thoroughly once or twice a week, and do not fertilize until the plant is growing strongly.

Sorry to be so glum, but I'd consider replacing with a potted rose. If you transplant in the summer heat, give it some temporary shade for a couple of weeks.