Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenerzone4

Questions about using wettable sulfur spray

gardenerzone4
10 years ago

I switched from Greencure to wettable sulfur spray this year to see if I can achieve better control of blackspot. This is my first time using wettable sulfur (4 Tbsp/gal), so I have some practical questions.

1. The spray leaves behind spots of sulfur residue all over the leaves. I know the sulfur has to get on the leaves to work, but I wasn't expecting all the spotted sulfur residue. It's a bit unsightly, and the cats rub against the leaves and smell like sulfur too when they come in. Is this normal? Any tricks I'm missing?

2. I have to keep agitating the sulfur spray b/c it easily settles to the bottom of the sprayer. I use a backpack sprayer, so every couple of roses I'm out there swinging my bottom from side to side to agitate the spray solution. Neighbors look at me funny. Again, is there a trick that I'm missing?

Comments (10)

• nickl
    10 years ago

Your experience is pretty much what is to be expected with sulfur. You're not doing anything wrong - it's just the nature.of that particular material.

I would suggest keeping pets away from the roses. Here is what Poison Control suggested to a pet (dog) owner:.

"Depending on the concentration and circumstances of exposure, sulfur can be an irritant to a petâÂÂs mucous membranes and skin. If it is ingested, however, sulfur can convert to sulfate in the gastrointestinal tract; sulfate has the potential to act like an acid and cause significant irritation - or even ulceration in severe cases as well as central nervous system or cardiac effects. Because of this, we would recommend keeping your Shih Tzu away from areas of your lawn treated with sulfur until the product has dissipated or has been thoroughly watered"

• michaelg
    10 years ago