Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andreark

What is it with root stocks?

andreark
10 years ago

I'm sure that you all realize that I'm a novice. So if I ask a rudimentary question, you'll understand why. I have done a search about this and can't really find a clear and full answer.

Just exactly what are the different root stocks and why are they used and by whom? I know there is Dr. Huey, Multiflora, own root, Fortuniana (sp?). Are there others and if so why.

Please imagine that your are speaking to a 5 year old.

andrea

Comments (22)

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

roseseek will chime in, but in the meantime, read his article linked below at helpmefind.com. Google also presents some other articles on the subject.

As for vendors that use rootstocks, ask. Most roses sold in the U. S. are grafted on Dr. Huey. There are a few vendors (K&M Roses, Cool Roses) that sell grafted on Fortuniana. Vendors who sell grafted on R. multiflora are Wisconsin Roses, Palatine Roses, and Pickering Nursery. Pickering used to also sell grafted on Manetti, I'm not sure if they still do. Vendors who sell own-root roses will say so somewhere on their site.

For additional reading, The Tyler Rose Industry provides an overview of the mass production of grafted bareroot roses in the US.

Here is a link that might be useful: Kim Rupert article on Rootstocks at helpmefind.com.

• michaelg
    10 years ago

Short form:

Dr. Huey is used by western US producers because it does relatively well in their alkaline soils. Obviously, it is good for gardeners with neutral or alkaline soils. It is OK in acid soils. The downside is that DH produces more rootstock suckers than other rootstocks.

Multiflora will get iron deficiency in neutral or alkaline soils. It is used by the Canadian producers. Their plants are less likely to carry mosaic virus than plants from western US producers. This is because of cultural practices, not the multiflora per se.