Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
profsuzy

Knockout roses being devoured

profsuzy
10 years ago

Hi all - I have 3 double-red knockout roses that I planted early last spring, and they did fine last year, and they're blooming like crazy right now. The problem is that some critter got to them early this spring (honestly, while I was neglecting them for my vegetable garden), and the leaves now look awful - almost lacy in places from all the munching. Aside from spraying with an insecticide soap, what can I do at this point? Can I cut the rose bushes back by 1/3 or so at this stage, or do I have to live with these leaf-denuded rose bushes all summer? Sorry if this is an ignorant question; I'm a rose newbie. Thanks.

Comments (6)

• michaelg
    10 years ago

Yes, you can cut them back by a third, but I would wait until this flush of bloom is over.

If you look down the pages for threads with titles like "something is eating my roses," you will find discussions of rose slug, a type of sawfly larva that is probably the culprit. Look underneath the leaves.

• jim1961 / Central Pennsylvania / Zone 6
    10 years ago

In the Spring when you first start seeing damage that's when to start spraying Safer insecticide soap OR Spinosad.
    Then repeat according to directions...
    I spray in the evening after sun goes down.
    The leaves do not burn that way and it seems to make the sprays more effective. Slower drying time maybe?

This post was edited by jim1961 on Mon, Jun 3, 13 at 22:50

10 years ago

The rose slugs here right now are still tiny. (1/4 inch)
    But still being very destructive. They will grow to about
    3/4" - 1 " later in the season.
    I'm not sure about your part of PA but here Rose Slugs are here from May until November+...
    The Rose Slugs we have hang out on top of the leaves and on the underside of the leaves...
    Ours are greenish in color with Orange heads and I seen some with black heads...