Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
raistlyn

Newbie to roses - some basic questions!

raistlyn
11 years ago

HI, i am a COMPLETE newbie to roses. I bought a few pots last season and after they developed serious mildew and black spots, abandoned them for growing other things.

Yesterday, I saw 3 pretty pots on sale and bought them to give them another go. They obviously just came out of the nursery as they were perfect - not a spot on their leaves, little buds waiting to bloom.

Ive repotted them now and put in some osmocote as feed, put them in a semi sunny spot. Now, i anticipate the same problems ahead. Should I start spraying them with insecticidal soap/neem to prevent the mildew and spots now already as a prevention, or should I wait till the problems hit?

I know these are very basic questions compared to the ones that are usually posted here! but hopefully someone can help get me started. THANKS!

Comments (6)

• michaelg
    11 years ago

Soap doesn't help with fungus diseases. Oil spray (your neem product is basically just oil) helps some. Any fungicide that is needful should be applied routinely and preventatively according to the label during the seasons that diseases may occur, that is in mild to warm weather, not extremely hot and dry.

The most effective fungicide on the market is Bayer Advanced
    Disease Control for Roses (Etc.) containing only tebuconazole. If conditions are not too bad for blackspot, you might get by with an organic remedy like neem (or other) oil or Safer's RTU sulfur spray. Do not mix or overlap these, as oil makes sulfur toxic to plants. Apply organic remedies once a week, or Bayer every 14 days.

• ksgreenman
    11 years ago

I'm not the most experienced rose gardener (though I am an experienced _gardener_) but I'll go ahead and take a shot.