Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New roses grower... all tips and advices are welcome

Posted by Joopster 5 (Chicago) (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 16, 14 at 11:53

Hi all. I'm new at growing roses. I been avoiding it because I heard that roses are very high maintenance. But after my husband bought me Port Sunlight last year, I got over my fear and started growing a few varieties. Please feel free to leave some tips and advices.

Here's my first rose, Port Sunlight

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New roses grower... all tips and advices are welcome

Love and Peace

o

Another Love and peace

o

Abraham Darby

o

Here is Crown Princess Margareta

o

Chicago Peace

o

Day Breaker

o

• Posted by jim1961 6a Central Pa. (My Page) on
    Mon, Jun 16, 14 at 13:15

Well you must be doing things right as the blooms look near flawless and the leaves look great! Thumbs up! :)

o

Jim, I agree...that was my first impression when I saw the pictures... Joopster, keep a log of what you do. This will come in handy. I use a dry erase board in the garage. At the end of the year, I take a picture and copy on paper before I erase it. Good luck...it looks good!

o

If you are a newbie then what am I? :P These are gorgeous! Just gorgeous. I don't think I have any advice for you. You seem to know what you are doing better than me! :o)

Michaela

o

I agree with Jim and kentucky_rose, you are doing a great job. Follow the posts on here and when you have a question, just ask and you will get some great advice. And please, keep sharing your lovely rose pictures! And most of all, enjoy!

o

I think your roses are gorgeous, especially your port sunlight and CPM. I am also new this year to growing Austin's and a few antiques, could give me some advice lol. Like what are you using for fertilizer?? Your roses look so healthy.

o