Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gabrielsyme

What colors do you prefer?

Gabrielsyme
10 years ago

I've been doing a lot of planning this spring and thinking about color. For a long time I chose plants because I liked them in the nursery and was only marginally aware of color coordination. Lately I've been trying to harmonize the entire property. Right now I'm keeping a lot of blue (wisteria, salvia, ajuga, liriope, hydrangea) and yellow and a few splashes of pink, hoping to add some white.

Do you choose your roses to fit in with a strict color scheme or do you jumble them together in a riot of color because you love them all? Are there some colors you love almost too much and others you wouldn't touch with a ten-foot pole?

Comments (13)

• andreark
    10 years ago

I'm just a novice.

But the first 6 roses I chose for my first rose bed were
    selected just as you did before....No ryme or reason
    AND no idea about size. Well, I learned my lessson!

The first bed's colors layout could be better, but the
    most important 'goof' was that I didn't know each rose's
    future size. As a result, I have taller ones where there
    should be shorter ones. I have to prune a lot to make
    it look decent.

This next bed that I just installed, is not only color
    coordinated, it is also planted for size. I have only 7
    new ones, but it still took some planning to arrange
    according to both size and color. I think this will work
    out beautifully.

Good luck,
    andrea

• roseseek
    10 years ago

It's all personal preference. Anyone who tells you it MUST be done one way or the other is bullying you. "Designers" are often like that in my experience. Personally, it completely depends upon the preference and taste of the person paying the bill.