Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
edweather

Japanese Beetle Control

I'm looking for suggestions for a way to control the japanese beetles on 4 small rose bushes we have. I'm new to growing roses and the beetles have devoured the roses in the past 2 years. From what little I've read, traps are NOT the way to go. Maybe a spray? Something safe, but effective is my priority. I definitely don't want to pick them off one-by-one. I am tempted to dig the bushes up and be done with it, but I hate to kill anything if I can help it, plus my wife planted them. They're the only things the beetles bother in our yard.

I'm sure there are many posts on this and other sites on this subject, but a few suggestions would save me a lot of time, and be much appreciated. Thanks.

Comments (26)

• organic_kitten
    15 years ago

Milky Spore is the organic way to kill them, but it kills the grubs before they develop into beetles, not the nasty voracious beetles themselves. It does increase in effectiveness and last about 8 to 10 years, but for this year, you are probably doomed to knock them off to a bucket of water or pick them off. Of course, some of the non-organic sprays will kill them.
    kay

• jljohnson740
    15 years ago

I plan to use "Concern"...found it on the internet. Protected my climbing rose but not sure what it will do for my newly planted Austins. Doesn't harm fish and I have to use something that won't kill my koi. My wisteria hangs over my fish pond and the beetles love it! Didn't have as many last year....don't know about this year yet. Good Luck!! Too bad the koi won't eat the hungry devils!!!

• athenainwi
    15 years ago