Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
twhitesides_gw

New at roses something is wrong help?!

twhitesides
9 years ago

So I'm brand new at growing roses and 2 of mine are not doing so hot black spots on leaves and yellow leaves with black spots on the other what's wrong and how can I prevent/fix this?

Comments (8)

• twhitesides
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here's another picture of the other one

• michaelg
    9 years ago

Hello, it would help people to talk with you if you give at least your state and USDA climate zone. Diseases and pests, winter damage and heat damage, vary from place to place. Also give the names of the roses if you can.

The top picture shows a foliar fungus disease. If the margins of the spots are fringy or notched, and yellow areas develop behind the spots, it is blackspot disease, which is very common and destructive. The second picture may or may not be that, it could just be some old leaves that were winter damaged or something. The spots don't look as big as blackspot spots.

People in areas with high disease pressure need to carefully select disease-resistant roses or else spray fungicide every two weeks.

• twhitesides
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I live in the portland Oregon area I'm not sure what kind they are the very first top picture is of a rose that came with the house when we moved in the second one is a rose that my brother in law recently got on sale at some nursery and gave it to us with no tag on it we just planted it a week ago we use Bayer 2 in 1 granulas to feed and protect against bugs but like I said I have no idea what we're doing here lol I want to learn and make them happy and healthy and plant more

• jerijen
    9 years ago

Those combo Bayer products aren't very efficient. You'd do better with a "real" fertilizer, and something else for fungal disease.