Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eeekk

How do you encourage roses to repeat bloom?

eeekk
12 years ago

Hello! This year I'm determined to make my roses rebloom like they are supposed to. Can anyone give me some advice?

I'm fairly new to roses and most of my rose bushes are about two to three years old. I figured that this is the year when they start "leaping" so, in the spring, I loaded them up with banana peels, composted manure, rosetone, and mulch.

Now that the first flush is almost over, what should I do? Add more fertilizer? Should I deadhead or should I do a hard prune?

These are a few of the roses that I need help with:

Gertrude Jekyll

Mary Rose

Reine des Violette

Honorine de Brabant

In particular, does anyone know how to make Gertrude Jekyll rebloom? That's probably the one I am most anxious about. It's the oldest of them all and has never rebloomed for me whatsoever.

Thanks so much!

Sharon

Comments (22)

• jacqueline9CA
    12 years ago

I am afraid that Gertrude Jekyll is a theoretically re-blooming Austin that is infamous for NOT re-blooming! HMF says it has some repeat late in the season - this means that it might bloom a bit for you in the Fall, if you are lucky.

In general, getting roses (presuming they have the DNA to re-bloom) involves making sure they have 4 things:

1) LOTS of direct sunlight
    2) Adequate water
    3) Adequate food
    4) Deadheading - I would not hard prune them, that would just make them spend energy putting out more canes and leaves, without which they cannot survive. Dead-heading prevents them from putting energy into making hips & seeds.

Reines des Violette is a hybrid perpetual, and they do not re-bloom as much as the old teas & chinas & modern roses, but they do re-bloom.

Jackie

• michaelg
    12 years ago

Extra fertilizer won't do it. The problem with marginal repeaters like Gertrude Jekyll is that, after the spring flush, they want to make vegetative growth, long canes that don't bloom.