Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
davemichigan

Help Me Kill a Wild Rose

davemichigan
15 years ago

Hi, I am new to this house, and in the back wood area there is a HUGE bush of wild rose. I don't know if they are technically rose, but they have rose features (the flowers buds and leaves are similar, and more importantly, they are THORNY!

{{gwi:293645}}

The problem is that they are too close too the area where children play, so I cut a lot of branches. I plan to continue to cut them all off.

But I also read that the more you prune a rose, the more vigorous it will grow. So how can I completely eliminated it (actually them as there are BIG separate bushes).

It this post doesn't belong here, I would appreciate you telling me where it should go. Thanks!

Comments (23)

• paparoseman
    15 years ago

Just go buy a bottle of brush killer and spray the whole bush with it. I finally killed a patch of blackberries with Bayer brush killer last year. The bush looks fine for a couple of days and then a little sick. In three weeks it will be nothing more than a clump of dried twigs.

What you have there is certainly a wild species rose and if you like the looks but not the size it can be controlled with good pruning. I have found with my kids as well as the neighbor kids that they tend to stay out of roses after getting pricked once.

Lance

• lydia_s
    15 years ago

Just keep chopping away at it & protect yourself from the thorns. When you eventually get to the stubs, wet the soil & go at it with a shovel & fork. You'll have to check next spring for regrowing stems. There is no easy fix. Look on it as an ongoing process. Multiflora is very hard to get rid of. Good luck.

• york_rose
    15 years ago