Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nickjoseph

Out of control Heritage and Fair Bianca

When I was a complete rose novice, I had a friend recommend some healthy David Austin bushes--Heritage and Fair Bianca. If I knew then what I knew now--I would never have planted them anywhere near other rose bushes. These babies are happiest when they can spread out every which way. The two have really been the healthiest bushes I've ever planted. Thing is, the branches start to flop over into my other bushes. I don't want to cut the branches because they are loaded with buds. What I ended up doing is buying some bamboo sticks and biodegradeable green twine type material. I put in 2-3 bamboo sticks in front of each bush and gently tied some of the hanging branches to the bamboo to hold up better. Does that sound okay? Thanks!

Comments (13)

• boncrow66
    9 years ago

It sounds good to me but I'm kinda new at this rose thing. I would love to see a pic of your Heritage, I planted one a few weeks ago and would like to see a established one. I planted her knowing she would spread too so at least that won't be a suprise for me.

• nickjoseph Milwaukee, WI
    Original Author
    9 years ago

If I get family or friend over when the gazillion blooms open, I will have them take a pic & send to my email so I can post! Alas, I don't have anything but a "dumb" phone, so I can't take pics!

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    9 years ago

Sounds like you have the problem well in hand. However, you might think about moving 1 or 2 of the roses Heritage is trying to smother. If she wants more space, give it to her!

I too look forward to seeing some pics.

Kate

• jim1961 / Central Pennsylvania / Zone 6
    9 years ago

I agree with Kate...
    I wouldn't mind seeing pics myself...

• buford
    9 years ago