Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emsie_gw

How would you prune this old, uncared for climber?

Emsie
10 years ago

Hi,

This rose was planted by my great-grandmother 50 years ago and has been relatively uncared for in the past 10 years.

{{gwi:294729}}

I'd really like to clean it up (this winter - I'm planning ahead haha) for my grandma but I'm new to roses and don't know where to start. I'm also really scared to mess it up or kill it because of its sentimental value to my grandma. I'd really appreciate some advice on how to go about it.

Thanks

Comments (11)

• buford
    10 years ago

Emsie, that is a beautiful rose. Don't be intimidated. You see the cane that is arching out to the right and has little stems coming up from it and those have flowers? That is what you want. A climber needs to be horizontal at some point and then each bud on the cane (which is what a rose branch is called) will put out a flower. If the canes are straight up, you will just get a tall rose with some flowers on top.

You don't have to wait till winter to clean up this rose. When the blooms are gone, you want to go to each little stem that had a rose on it and cut it back. Leave about 6 inches, or two sets of leaves. Also cut off anything that is black or brown or looks broken. Any ugly scraggly growth you don't like you can get rid of.

The really tall canes on the top of the trellis, you should try to see if you can gently bend them down to be horizontal. They will then have flowers come up all along them instead of just at the top.

The harder part, which you may want to wait till winter, is the bottom. It's hard to tell, but it looks like you have a lot of canes popping up from the ground. Any that are dead, or short or crossing another cane, you will want to remove.

Also, after pruning, you will want to fertilize the rose. Rose Tone is a good general organic rose fertilizer that is available at Home Depot. If you don't get regular rain, you will also want to water it.