Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
berninicaco3

OH NO! how can I save these guys?

berninicaco3
9 years ago

I'm new to roses. We had minis when I was a kid, and in a bout of nostalgia I bought a bunch of these guys from a local garden center.

These were healthy when I bought them. All the leaves on these 2 are turning yellow and wilting/dying and I'm scared of losing the whole plant. I potted them on wednesday/thursday. Some of the others are showing the same symptom, but to a lesser degree.

These are 'baby elizabeth' and 'real pink' if breed is relevant.

I used a nice mix of compost with some sand and vermiculate for drainage, and touch of pearlite just because. I also mixed in some granulated rose fertilizer.
at the bottom of the pots is either sand or cocoa mulch (I ran out of sand).

What's causing it, and is there anything I can do in the way of damage control?

Is it just stress from repotting and they'll recover?

could I have over-fertilized (and if so, should I immediately re-repot with soil without fertilizer)?

overwatering from the recent rains (and I need to move under porch to dry out)?

fungus/disease? (seems less likely).

let me know before these die!!

thanks!
-Bernard

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:296857}}

Comments (6)

• canadian_rose
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Well, I'm no expert but....I wouldn't have potted them in compost. I think that would be too rich for the baby roots. What I use is a mixture of lots 2/3 potting soil and 1/3 garden soil, and that's it. Plus I would never fertilize anything that young. The roots might have been burned.

The extra water might be helping to flush out the fertilizer.

I would repot and leave the compost for top dressing once the roses are bigger/older.
    They should be fine then. :)

Now, someone else might come up with a better/different solution. :)

New things always have a learning curve. You'll get it. :)
    Carol

• seil zone 6b MI
    9 years ago