Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
knoxrosetn

Any roses that do particularly well in part shade? Any Austins?

KnoxRose z7
9 years ago

Hello All!

I was wondering if any of you had any suggestions for roses that might do well for me in the part-shade areas of my yard. I am in a constant state of planning for my new additions, and a large portion of the area I have left to work with only gets sun from about 7am- 1pm, & some areas (mostly my porch-where I would love to have potted roses) get even less at 7am-11:30am.

Then there are some areas of the yard that are completely shaded in the morning and then get bright sun from about 1:30pm until about 6-7pm. Since I am still a newbie I have no idea if these allotments would be considered adequate sunlight, & if morning sun and afternoon sun are created equal in the eyes of roses or if one is drastically preferred to another in this type of climate. I just don't know!

So, any advice you may have, or recommendations of things that have worked in your garden would be much appreciated. I have a certain affinity for Austin roses & also for any rose with a strong fragrance, but all types are welcome here, I love them all.

Thanks so much for your help!

Jessica

Comments (22)

• Michaela (Zone 5b - Iowa)
    9 years ago

Hi Jessica,

I am not much of an expert but I can give a little insight on one rose I have in shade. I am growing Red Moss/Henri Martin - it's an old moss rose. It has big double blooms that are pink/red depending on your location. It's doing very well in part shade and I'm in a colder zone than you.

Not sure how you feel about the older roses but it's doing very well for me so far. Hardly can tell it's new aside from it's small size.

Also - Heirloom Roses has a wonderful selection and really great searching options!

Here are all Austin's that tolerate shade for your zone!

Good luck :o)

Michaela

Here is a link that might be useful: David Austin's Shade Roses