Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jardin_de_maria

in desperate need of reviving my rose plant!!!

jardin_de_maria
13 years ago

I am a complete amateur. We've had this rose bush for years, it has survived hanging by a thread thankfully, with hope for it growing to its full potential.

I have no idea how to prune. I used to trim the dead parts off it, but after a while I started to neglect it. I also used to feed it an asprin mixture (one asprin tablet, 1 tsp vinegar, one gallon of water) every three weeks and that made it relatively healthy, with very fragrant blooms. Now the roses are few and far between and not very healthy.

AND i am unsure as to what exactly is this rose. Can anyone ID it?

Quite a few pictures of its condition (if there are too many pictures, I'll take some down, just let me know):

{{gwi:298320}}

{{gwi:298321}}

{{gwi:298322}}

{{gwi:298323}}

And then there are some weird, alienish, white, creepy things growing on the bottom of some branches:

{{gwi:298324}}

{{gwi:298325}}

{{gwi:298326}}

Closeups of the condition:

{{gwi:298327}}

{{gwi:298328}}

{{gwi:298329}}

I know... it's horrible... but at least there was one nice bud (waiting unknowingly for its demise)

{{gwi:298330}}

HELP PLEASE!!

Comments (5)

• jacqueline9CA
    13 years ago

The blooms and twiggy growth pattern makes me think it is some sort of "china" rose. Where approx to you live? Do you know your climate zone? Chinas love heat, hate cold. Will bloom continuously for months and months if they are happy.

Just my opinion, but if this were my rose here is what I would do:

1) Don't worry about pruning it - chinas don't need pruning, especially not at this point when it is under so much stress. If a cane is obviously completely dead, OK to take off but not necessary.

2) Weed ALL of the stuff that it not rose away from the bottom of the plant - out to at least 20".

3) WATER it well, for a couple of days.