Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phloro_gw

My knockout roses are not blooming properly

phloro
11 years ago

My double knockout rose plant had large beautiful blooms when I first bought it. After I planted and fertilized them (with a rose fertilizer) I was expecting the next flush of blooms to be as good as the original ones when I bought the plant. Unfortunately the "double" knockout roses looked like single knockouts and a size smaller ! and some of them did not bloom properly or were deformed. The plant itself looks good with nice foliage and is sprouting pretty well. Can't say the same for the roses. I fertilize every week alternating between a rose fertilizer and a bloom booster (with high phosphorus content). The drainage is very good, gets watered regularly, gets > 6 hrs sunlight. What am I doing wrong ?? any advice you may give is highly appreciated.

Comments (11)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    11 years ago

I'm not an expert on this subject, but my guess is that you are drastically over-fertilizing that poor rose bush if you are feeding it every week. That is far too much food in general and certainly much more phosphorus than it needs.

At most, rose foods will usually say something like feed monthly, and I would guess most rose gardeners work on a feed schedule of once in the early spring and then after each bloom cycle. Some rose gardeners claim they have amended the soil and other than adding manure around the rose once a year, they do no other feedings because the soil has enough nutrients in it already.

Once you have overfed a rose, the only solution I know is watering it thoroughly in hopes of flushing out some of that excessive food. Perhaps other posters will have other suggestions.

You really need to relax with your rose. Knock Outs (and many other roses) can do a pretty good job of taking care of themselves most of the time. Giving them water when they are dry and it hasn't rained may be your most important job as a rose gardener.

Good luck.

Kate