Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Roses on west facing fence

Posted by kans none (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 22, 14 at 2:41

Hi

I am very new to gardening. We have recently moved to a new house. I have a west facing fence and thought roses would look good there. So I ordered 18 bare root and planted them last week.

Now the problem is the area where the roses are gets just 3 hours of direct sun , out of which 4 roses just gets 1 hour of direct sunlight. We just moved here 6 months back and don't remember how much sun light that spot gets in sping and summer.

Currently it gets from 12 - 3pm. I am really upset and worried for these roses :(..

I live in Melbourne , Australia. We have a good summer here. Is there any chance this 3 hours would be more hours of sunlight in spring / summer?? Its really a bright spot.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Roses on west facing fence

If I were you I would find someone who grows roses in your area to consult. See if there are any rose societies - they will be happy to help you.

However, as I live in a warm climate, as I believe you do, I will tell you what I know about "hours of sunlight" here in Northern California from my direct experience.

I have over 100 roses, and only a very few of them get "6 hours of direct sun". Nonetheless, they grow, bloom, and are happy. I think this is one of those old "rules" that originated in England, where the climate is so cool and damp that it probably makes sense. In warm or hot climates, I would not worry about roses, especially on a "West facing fence", in a bright spot, that get 3 hours of sun (in what I think is your winter?).

If they were mine, I would WAIT and see how they grow. This may take several months - patience is a virtue!

Jackie

o