Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help with my bare root roses

Posted by kans none (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 1, 14 at 9:26

I am completely new to gardening. I have odered 21 rose bush , out of which 4 has already arrived and i planted them. Its really very confusing as each of the major rose sellers give different instructions. Add compost or not , water regularly or no watering untill spring, mound the canes.. I really don't know which to follow. I live in Melbourne, Australia..we have clay soil. No snow, temp doesn't get below 2 degree Celsius. No snow. Bit wet here. I have planted 4 with little compost added. Status of them are :
mr Lincoln: already had very few leaves , those leaves have grown
papa meilland : starting to leaf from red swelling it had.
perfume delight: no sign of anything
i planted them all last week.
our spring starts from September. suggestion pls
am i doing right?
any help much appreciated regarding watering and planting rest of my roses.we have clay soil but not very heavy.
Thankx

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help with my bare root roses

Soak them in buckets several hours or days before planting. Then soak them in with a lot of water, over 5 gallons, to settle the soil. Don't tamp clay soil or even step on it when it is wet. Then mound the plants or spray with an anti-transpirant to prevent dehydration. Remove any white shoots that are exposed above the mound, as they will not survive in the sun.

The initial watering with last for 2-3 weeks in winter. When new growth appears through the mound (about a month), reduce the mound with a flow of water from the hose, or very carefully remove it by hand--new shoots are very fragile.

Young plants will use 2-3 gallons of water per week in spring, or twice that when they are 3 feet wide in hot weather. You can fertilize very lightly once they are leafed out.