Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sharon2079

recomendation for a rose

sharon2079
9 years ago

I have several different roses and would like to purchase more. I have several different kinds, but the two that I like the smell the best is Quieteness from Buck and a Sharifa Asma rose from Austin. Both of these seem to smell similar to me and I really like it. Are there any other roses that have this type of smell.?

And can anyone tell me if this is consider a myrh, a tea, or old rose. I am just getting started I have 12 plants and really am not sure. In fact, I do not know if the two above are suppose to even smell similar, or if it is just me. I didn't know until watching this form that certain people couldn't smell certain things. I just thought it was me. I gusess that is why I want to know what other roses smell like these, because I have started doing mail order. I purchase a Duchesse de Brabant and a Cecile Brunner. I cannot detect any fragrance from either, which makes me very sad. Maybe my plants are too young. However, they are the same age as the other forementioned roses. Most of my other roses are from Home Depot or Sams. And sadly I never paid much attention to the names before. But now I am really wanting to increase my garden. I have seen on this fourm a lot of recomendation on roses that have great fragrance, but now I am kind of concerned that I might not be able to smell some of the other suggestions.... and am wondering if there is a type of roses that is easier to smell such as the tea, or myrh, or whatever the type is.

I don't care so much about the color. I would like to be able to cut a few and bring them into the house where I can see them and hopefully smell them.

I live in Florida, in Zone 10.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Comments (7)

• cecily
    9 years ago