Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dsd2682

What can be causing this?

SoFL Rose z10
10 years ago

Hi All
A lot of my roses are growing in a deformed manner and I have no idea what could be causing this. At first I thought it was the summer heat but the roses in the front yard don't seem to have this problem. It is mostly happening to my Kordes roses (Lion's Fairy Tale, Elegant Fairy Tale, and Brother's Grimm) and also my Buck rose Polonaise and my Olympiad. But I see it on all my roses in the back, Mr Lincoln, Perfume Delight, Love, Gold Medal and Double Delight have all shown the same thing on occasion. Sometimes I see it also on my Belinda's Dream which makes me think its not the heat because she's pretty heat resistant.
Any clues? Is there a bug in the house? Or is this what they call balling?

Comments (7)

• racin_rose
    10 years ago

I'm not an expert by any means, but I looked the same thing up a while ago because I saw several Austins at a local nursery doing that and I was curious as to what was causing it. Suposedly it's most common with OGRs, but most of what I read pointed to cold temps and/or over-feeding, and I read something not long ago that said too much alfalfa will do it.
    I have had some really mild bull-nosing on a few blooms on my Double Delights, they are shorter buds that are squared off and waxy along the edges. They go on and bloom but make a flatter shape...right on the same bushes as classically formed buds and blooms. Who knows?

I just double-checked and found this thread also:
    http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/rosesant/msg051830076224.html

Here is a link that might be useful: rose proliferation

This post was edited by racin_rose on Wed, Jul 10, 13 at 12:29

• SoFL Rose z10
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Well that may very well be true as I feed them a lot of Rose Tone recently and that contains high levels of alfafa. I'll cut down on it some and see if it improves my blooms.
    Thanks!!

• racin_rose