Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Encouraging growth in 1 Yr old New Dawn Roses

Posted by jessiegirl21 6 (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 5, 13 at 13:05

Hi,

I'm new to growing roses. This year i bought a few New Dawn climbing roses for my yard from HeirloomRoses.com. The tag said they are 1 yr old plants.

They have only been in the ground a month or so, and are doing wonderfully. THey are growing well and a few even have buds.

I picked climbing roses to help create some privacy through my fence. If the roses are blooming does that mean they aren't focusing on growing larger - climbing - because they are focusing on blooming? Should i cut the blooms off to encourage growth ( right now i'm looking for overall plant size vs number of buds...

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Encouraging growth in 1 Yr old New Dawn Roses

There is certainly a theory that cutting off the first flower buds on any kind of roses will encourage stronger growth.

One thing to remember is that ANY climbing rose can take up to 3 years to really start climbing. There is a saying -
"first year sleeping", second year creeping", third year leaping" regarding climbing roses. They tend to put out small, "baby" canes initially while their roots are growing. Then, (up to 3 years) later, they will start putting out the "climbing canes" which are different - they are thicker, and tend to grow very fast straight up (gardeners have posted on here that they were frightened by this, and thought something was wrong with their roses!).

New Dawn is a very good rose, in my opinion, for growing on a fence for privacy. Just give them some time, and they will get large for you. When the climbing canes do appear, I would wait until they have stopped growing up, but are still flexible. Then I would tie them as horizontally as you can along the fence. This will encourage more blooms, and more lateral canes off the first one, which you can then also tie horizontally, etc.

Jackie

o