Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jasminerose4u

Freaky Rive Gauche and Green Eyed Beauty Roses

Has anyone heard of green eyed roses? They look like that unusual green china rose that is all sepals, but they are dressed up in a skirt of pretty petals. Even though they are calling it "Green Eyed Beauty Garden Rose", apparently it is only available from florists. I spoke to the owner of Petals and Pop Flowers in CA and she said the "leaves" in the center keep growing so it might look funny as a garden rose. There is also a red rose with a green eye called "Rive Gauche". I can't find any information about the breeder.

This video was posted almost two years ago, so maybe this is old news. But I'm just starting out, so it's new to me.

Here is a link that might be useful: Green Eyed Beauty Rose

Comments (15)

• Kippy
    9 years ago

Not sure how long it will last, but my new Archduke Joseph is suffering from proliferation pretty bad. Personally I hope that faze passes quickly. Kind of freaky to see all that green in the center like that.

Maybe asking for roses that proliferate regularly will get you a non florist rose that otherwise grows well.

• jerijen
    9 years ago

EEEEEeeeeuuuwwww . . .

• roseseek
    9 years ago

These have been around a while, Bonnie. Anything "novel" is sure to find a market. Proliferation isn't new and occurs quite frequently. Sequoia raised a red mini with a proliferated center they considered using as a "premium" for magazine subscription sales. It was quite like their Red Germain, which was distributed by them as a free gift from Germain's Nursery. Mr. Moore related how he wanted to call the variety "Salad Bowl" (he was seldom good at naming roses but when he was, he was great), because it looked like a red bowl full of salad. It wasn't a very good rose which is why it didn't hang around very long. You can see images of Rive Gauche at the link below and at this address.