Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
minze_gw

rosebush died quickly (2 weeks from live to dead)

minze
15 years ago

Sorry for the long post, this is my first time growing roses. I'll give a little history first then talk about the problem. I moved into this house in Feb 2007. Nothing in the yard had been taken care of for 2.5 years prior to me moving in. Prior to that 2.5 year period things had been very well cared for on the property. I learned this from the neighbors.

Many things were doing EXTREMELY bad to start off in the spring. I spent last spring/summer/fall carefully working to care for the rhododendrons, azaleas, Japanese maples, and roses to bring them back to good health.

Everything has taken off real well. This year there is new growth and great blooms on all of the plants that I have worked with. There was a lot of reading and research done on the web. I don't follow a totally organic process for the garden, but generally try to if I see there is a successful organic method for something.

For the roses, I have 4 bushes total. There were 3 when we moved in Feb of last year. Last spring I noticed a small shoot coming up in between 2 of the roses. I took care of it and it is now about 1.5 feet tall and has bloomed this year. Last year the largest bush had 1 bloom and the smallest of the original bushes bush had 1 bloom. That was it. Of the original 3 bushes, the 2 that each had one bloom last year exploded this year. They were blooming, I deadheaded and they continued to bloom. Even the bush that didn't bloom last year bloomed nicely this year.