Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sara_ann_gw

Beautiful Aloha

sara_ann-z6bok
9 years ago

When my roses are blooming I always check them out before dark. My Climbing Aloha has a few blooms on it right now and I think the one pictured here is the prettiest one I've ever seen on it. I've had my Aloha for about 12 years.

Comments (16)

• Prettypetals_GA_7-8
    9 years ago

Soooooo beautiful!! I bet that baby is gorgeous during its spring flush!! Judy

• sara_ann-z6bok
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Judy - Thank you. Truthfully, the roses are beautiful, the bush itself needs some work, I love climbers, but I am not very good with them.

• seil zone 6b MI
    9 years ago

It looks gorgeous!

• canadian_rose
    9 years ago

I agree - I am just terrible at climbing roses. I just let my hardy climber grow into a bush.

That is a STUNNING Aloha!! I just love it!!! Wow!!!
    Thanks for the look,
    Carol

• sara_ann-z6bok
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you Seil and Carol.

• michaelg
    9 years ago

This is the 1949 'Aloha', not the recent Kordes one.

Still one of the best short climbers-- large, fragrant flowers on cutting stems, plant resistant to blackspot in many gardens, cane hardy to 5b, good repeat. I am very fond of my old girl.

It has a somewhat shrubby, upright habit of growth. The flowers have the bullnose/proliferation defect during first flush some years, depending on weather.

• sara_ann-z6bok
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you Michael - Glad to know that info about the first flush, because that is apparently what happens to mine some years, seems to happen if we've had a lot of rain. Other than that it is a great rose bush with beautiful blooms.

• view1ny NY 6-7
    9 years ago

Sara-ann, could you post a pic of the entire bush? I'd love to see what it looks like.

• sara_ann-z6bok
    Original Author
    9 years ago