Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scottfam125

soil mixture for container roses??

If I pot up some new bands what is the best soil and additives to use to make them take off before I plant them in the ground?? Thanks, Judy

Comments (12)

• rosesnpots
    15 years ago

When I get my new young roses, I use straight up MG potting mix in 10 or 14 inch pots. I have also read on the forum that WalMart potting mix works as well. The big thing is to use potting mix not potting soil. I also add a liquid root stimulator to help them get started.

• Prettypetals_GA_7-8
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks rosesnpots, I have never used a root stinulator before so will definitely try it. Thanks for your help. Judy

• odyssey3
    15 years ago

In our heat I have to use a moisture retaining potting soil, even with watering every day.

• roseman
    15 years ago

I just use a soiless potting mix so that I can add my own fertilizers as needed. I usually get a bag of nursery mix from Lowes. So far so good.

• mexicanhat
    15 years ago

I mix mine, have been for a few years now. My scoop is about 1/2 gallon.

This is the basic seed starting mix.

2 scoops peat
    1 scoop coir
    ~1/2 scoop perlite

To make potting mix for gallon size or better, add:

3 scoops composted pine fines/bark
    couple tbsp triple superphosphate
    1 tsp agricultural lime
    couple tbsp osmocote (if desired)
    a few tbsp moisture crystals (if desired)

This makes a good sized wheelbarrow full of potting mix.

I would be interested to see anyone else's recipe that mixes their own...

• Maryl (Okla. Zone 7a)
    15 years ago