Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
A lot of thorns on the rosebush?

Posted by Acriym none (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 6, 13 at 23:26

It's my first time planting roses - the leaves turned red, but my friend's father (who is a gardener and landscaper) had told me it wasn't much to worry about, as it tends to happen. However, I noticed that there were a lot of thorns on the rose bush the other day, and I heard that was one of the symptoms of rrd... Is this normal? I'm think that I'm just being a tad bit paranoid :(

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: A lot of thorns on the rosebush?

MANY roses exhibit red new growth. The picture of the prickles you've posted don't look abnormal for many varieties to me. Plus, the foliage on that cane appears normal. Take a look at the photos on the site I've linked below. Click on the images there to view them larger. You'll see how distorted RRD infected growth is and how yours appears to be normal. Kim

Here is a link that might be useful: Rose Rosette Disease

o

I agree with Kim. Looks normal to me. Don't start worrying until you see distorted and weird excessive growth--monster, mis-shapen growth. It's ugly. You won't be able to miss it. In the meantime, enjoy the red colors and prickles on your normal-growing rose! : )

Kate

o