Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ranyu2011

Disease of New Dawn

ranyu2011
9 years ago

Hi ,

I'm a beginner of planting rose and I'm having some problems for a while.

This is a New Dawn from David Austin which I planted 1 month ago. At the beginning it grows very well, but after a heavy rain, I found many dark spots on new leaves and buds. Some leaves are even twisted and look weird. (but old leaves are fine)

I searched from books and rose forums, I thought it might be black spot, but I'm not sure. Because it seems that black spot doesn't appear on new leaves? Or it might be pest like thrips? But I didn't find any bugs there.

My other roses like Wollerton old hall, Wisley 2008 also have the same problem. I tried to spray several times but it didn't work.

Now I'm really confused, can anyone tell me what the problem is?

Thanks.

(sorry for my poor English)

Comments (20)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    9 years ago

Ranyu, can you take some pictures of leaves with the black spots--maybe even a couple close-ups? I can't really see anything wrong in the picture above. It looks like you just need to be patient and let the rose settle in and grow some good roots. Different roses grow at different rates.

When you sprayed the leaves for what you thought was blackspot, what spray did you use? Some sprays are much more effective than other sprays.

Kate

• ranyu2011
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you very much for answering!
    I just took another picture of my rose , now the problem is more clear I hope.
    Maybe I'm too looking forward to see the flowers, so I'm really worried about the disease before it blooms.:)

• ranyu2011
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This is the spray I used.
    I live in UK, it seems that it's the only spray for rose I can find here.What do you recommend?

• ranyu2011
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Another picture.
    sorry I don't know how to post several pictures in one message.

• michaelg
    9 years ago