Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lazydaisies

roses on a chain link fence?

We are fencing our property this week with a 4' black chain link fence and all I can think about is all the climbing roses I could grow on them. It's just so tempting with all this space.

I have one stretch of fence that is 67 feet long with no gates. Thought this would be the perfect place for one but was worried that the 4' would not be tall enough for many climbers.

I really love Zephirine Drouhin but it appears that one would get too large for my fence. Was also thinking about Ramblin Red. I believe our local nursery carried it this year so they may have it again next year. I have read to tie on roses, rather than weave them in and out of the chain link. Any other feedback? Anyone love this on their fence? Anyone hate it? Any rose suggestions?

I'm in Zone 5. I don't care about rose color, I love them all. Vigorous growth is always nice as patience is a virtue I'm still learning. ;o)

Thanks for your help! I just love this site. I've learned so much from all of you.

This post was edited by thegardenat902 on Mon, Aug 18, 14 at 12:30

Comments (15)

• boncrow66
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I think zephrine would be a good choice. I know they can get large but I am growing mine as part climber part cascading shrub. I'm training it to climb on the railing of my porch but don't want the whole porch covered so I am going to let the front I the zeffie cacade instead of climb. I don't know how it's actually going to look in reality but in my head I have pictured as beautiful lol but who knows it could end up looking like a big mess. It was just planted this year and still has time to grow so time wi tell. Have fun picking out climbers, I'm sure you will get many more good suggestions from everyone.

• Michaela (Zone 5b - Iowa)
    Original Author
    9 years ago

boncrow - thank you for your response! I'm glad your first thought wasn't that I was totally crazy.