Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hdanko

Rosa Don Juan Help

hdanko
9 years ago

Id like to start by stating that I am a novice when it comes to roses. I just moved into a home and I'm trying to care for a Rosa Don Juan. I've done research and read that it is a climber , but the prior owner provided nothing for it to climb.

When I moved in a few months ago it was flowering and beautiful and it now looks like it is dying. Basically, I'm trying to understand how to care for it/save it. Do I need to prune it or install a trellis? Does it look like the bottom is dying or is that how it's supposed to look?

Again, I apologize for the simplicity but I have no idea what I'm doing. Appreciate any help!

Holly

Comments (10)

• alameda/zone 8/East Texas
    9 years ago

Looks like it just lost its leaves either due to blackspot, summer heat/stress, but looks like the canes are green. You might prune out the dead wood, if any, maybe lightly prune the tops to encourage it to leaf out, mulch if needed, water well and fertilize with some fish emulsion. You might fan the canes along the fence to help laterals give you more blooms. It may just be taking a rest and with some care, will pop back and bloom well this fall. Some of mine do this in heat of summer and this is what I do to help them out.

Lovely yard and fence!
    Judith

• boncrow66
    9 years ago

I agree with Judith, I have a red and a pink Don Juan. My red one defoliated due to BS and the heat but it has bounced back. The canes can be a little stiff but if you gently tie the canes along the fence you will have more blooms. My pink one blooms constantly and is one of my favorite roses. Good luck and post pics when it blooms for you! I would also recommend watching Paul Zimmermans videos on YouTube on training and pruning climbers, it is very informative and helped me to understand more about climbers.

• susan4952
    9 years ago