Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Vote for the best red rose!

Posted by bayarea-girl none (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 29, 13 at 17:54

In my search for the best red rose, I came across Sue Brown's beautiful picture of Black Magic rose and it's just amazing. This rose reminds me of the rose in Beauty and the Beast Disney movie.

I don't have this rose yet and hope to get it soon in a near future. Since I'm just a beginner in growing roses I'm sure many of you have seen other red roses that have beautiful shape, form and velvet texture. Please share your experience and pictures. Thank you to Sue Brown for the beautiful picture.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Vote for the best red rose!

The roses produced by Black Magic are beautiful. The plant is extremely leggy. I have not found it to be very floriferous, nor to have a great repeat. I have grown it for 7 years. Crimson bouquet has lovely flowers, on a healthy plant, with dark green leaves, plus a good repeat. I have not grown a lot of reds recently except for Black Magic and Don Juan. I will not be without Don Juan in my dry hot climate, but Black Magic will be removed next month.

Lynn

This post was edited by desertgarden561 on Thu, Aug 29, 13 at 19:56

o

My vote goes to 'Governor Rosellini'. NOTdramatic. NOT a deep, dark velvety Valentine's Day red.

It is, however, great on its own roots, fragant, healthy and reliably productive in my environment.

o

Chrysler Imperial

The luscious scent screams: "THIS is what a big red rose should smell like"

o

I grew Mr. Lincoln years ago in a different garden. It is a vigorous and fragrant rose with nice blooms and color.
It does need ample room. It is a classic.

Lynn

o

Veteran's Honor. By far the best formed rose I've ever grown and it lasts and lasts in the garden and in the vase. Just superb! And a heavy bloomer. Mine is still small, just a few canes really, and she always has flowers or buds forming.

o