Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bayarea_girl

Vote for the best red rose!

In my search for the best red rose, I came across Sue Brown's beautiful picture of Black Magic rose and it's just amazing. This rose reminds me of the rose in Beauty and the Beast Disney movie.

I don't have this rose yet and hope to get it soon in a near future. Since I'm just a beginner in growing roses I'm sure many of you have seen other red roses that have beautiful shape, form and velvet texture. Please share your experience and pictures. Thank you to Sue Brown for the beautiful picture.

Comments (67)

• sara_ann-z6bok
    10 years ago

I don't have a favorite red rose. I have several and nearly all of them has been my favorite at some point. I've had Royal William the longest and when it is at its best it is beautiful. I've had some gorgeous blooms from Liebeszauber and Let Freedom Ring, but lack of fragrance is a let down in a red rose. My Firefighter is promising and I love the fragrance, same with Chrysler Imperial. My Veterans Honor started out kind of sickly, but seems to be coming along, it's starting to get some decent blooms, but then again not much fragrance. My most pleasant surprise is Amalia, it's a lovely red with a strong tea fragrance. There are so many other reds I would love to try. Pictured is Liebeszauber

• nastarana
    10 years ago

Another vote here for Mr. Lincoln. Color, shape and fragrance can't be beat. Long stems make it the perfect cut flower. It does tend to grow straight up, so don't place it in the front of short plants.

David Austen has introduced some nice red roses, if you want the old fashioned look. I am partial to Othello, despite the thorny bush. The Prince is an outstanding shrub. It offers almost continuous bloom, superb dark red to purple color and powerful fragrance. IMHO, the best "purple" rose I have ever seen.

• roserobin_gw
    10 years ago

Oklahoma is my favorite red for it's deep rich colour and intoxicating scent.