Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
xyzdaylilydaddy

Hybrid Tea lateral stems gone rogue

xyzDaylilyDaddy
9 years ago

Let me preface this by saying, this is my first year growing roses so go gently on me. I planted 16 HTs and two Queen Elizabeths on either side of my front walkway. They are a grab bag of what I thought looked healthy for bare root roses I got at Aldi and Lowes.

One of them has decided he likes the space next to him and sent out 4-5 foot stems across the Queen Elizabeth.

Q: Should I cut him back or let him go?

I'm tempted to let him go, so that he can build up strength for the Winter, then cut him back Feb./March. Advice?

Comments (8)

• Kippy
    9 years ago

Do you know which one it is? If not, what color is the bloom and what form?

• xyzDaylilyDaddy
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Sorry. At this point I have no idea what I'm dealing with. HT is all I know. I didn't pay too much attention when I planted them. It's not blooming right now, and I just don't remember.

• jerijen
    9 years ago

It's really difficult to say, if we don't know what the "rogue" rose is.

To complicate the issue, it is not at all uncommon for roses at such sources to be wildly mis-labeled.

And lest I be accused of snobbery, I've had odd things happen with roses from "good" sources.

I remember, for instance, a 'Marchesa Boccella' which -- instead of growing sturdily upright, grew as a lax groundcover, which wrapped itself around the ankles of unwary passers-by.

Jeri

• fig_insanity Z7b E TN
    9 years ago

My bet is that you have a CLIMBING rose, that was mis-labeled as a hybrid tea. I'd be surprised if it even blooms the color you thought you were getting. I doubt a HT sent out 5' canes its first year in the ground. Ah, the joys of gardening.

I'd recommend moving it next Spring, because you're not going to be able to control its ultimate size, and neither you, it, or its neighbors will be happy.

John

• michaelg
    9 years ago